How much information is visible on my profile?
ResearchGate gives you the option to choose how much of your information is displayed – both publicly and to other ResearchGate members. To customize who sees what, follow these steps:
- Go to your Privacy Settings
- Select the drop-down menu underneath Your research
- Choose who can see your Researcher info by selecting Everyone, ResearchGate members or Mutual followers
- The settings will be updated automatically.
Is my ResearchGate profile visible to search engines?
When you sign up to ResearchGate your public page is automatically enabled, so most of your profile information will be visible to search engines. To manage your public page:
- Go to your Privacy Settings and scroll to the section Your public profile
- Choose whether you want to enable or disable your public page
- You can also choose whether your profile photo and questions and answers are displayed on your public page
- Your changes will be saved automatically.
My profile isn’t appearing in search engines
ResearchGate pages are automatically visible in search engines. However, due to the speed that search engines manage and index changes to web pages, it can sometimes take a while for public ResearchGate profiles to appear in search results.
My profile is still appearing in search engines
Once a publication, profile or profile image has been removed from ResearchGate, it is our policy that its old URL redirects to our main publications page or researcher index. It can often take a few weeks for public profiles to disappear from search engines due to the speed they manage and index changes to web pages.
Only your mutual followers (researchers who are following you and you’re following back) can see your personal contact details, including address and phone numbers.
How can I block someone on ResearchGate?
To block a researcher from interacting with you on ResearchGate, follow these simple steps:
- Go to the profile of the researcher you want to block
- Click on their Info tab
- Scroll down to the bottom right and click Block researcher.
Blocking a researcher means they’ll be removed from your list of followers and won’t be able to message you or see updates about you. Blocking works both ways, so your contact with them will be limited in the same way.
How can I see who has read my publications ?
Researchers can decide whether they want to read research privately or publicly. This can be updated in the Privacy settings in the Reader data section, by selecting the box that says Allow other researchers to see that you've read their publications. If researchers untick this box, granting anonymity, this means that they also won't be able to see which researchers have read their publications.
How can I see who has read my publications or projects?
To start seeing who has read your work, you first need to allow other people to see when you read their research. Reading activity on ResearchGate is a mutual relationship. Only when both you and an author or project collaborator allow others to see your reading activity will you be able to see the readers of your projects or publications.
You can do this by enabling a setting in your Privacy settings:
- Under the section Your activity on ResearchGate, select the types of reading activity that you’d like to allow authors or project collaborators to see.
Once you have enabled this setting, a great place to see your readers is in your Weekly stats report, where you can get detailed information about your audience and what they've read.
Note: You can change your reader settings at any time.
When can other people see that I've read their publications?
In order for publication authors or project collaborators to see that you've read their work, you both need to make your reading activity visible by selecting the option in your Privacy settings.
Because reading activity on ResearchGate is a mutual relationship, only the authors or collaborators who have enabled this setting will see that you read their work.
Sometimes, some but not all co-authors of a publication will have enabled this setting. For example, after allowing others to see your reading activity, you read a publication written by 2 co-authors. If only one of the co-authors has allowed others to see when they've read their work, then only that one author will see that you read their publication.
If either you or an author or project collaborator has not enabled this setting, than they will not see that you've read their research.
You can enable the setting to allow people to see when you read their publications and projects from your Privacy settings. Under the section Your activity on ResearchGate, select the types of reading activity that you’d like to allow authors or project collaborators to see.
Email address security
It is our policy to never share email addresses used on our site with external parties. The only way this could have happened through ResearchGate is if you made your email address publicly available on your profile, e.g. in your About section, or if it features on a full-text which has been made public. We use email addresses associated with your account only to send you ResearchGate-related emails.
How do I log out of ResearchGate?
You can log out of ResearchGate in two simple steps:
- Click on the arrow in the top right-hand corner of any page
- Click Log out.
To log back in to your ResearchGate account, visit researchgate.net.
ResearchGate is committed to ensuring the security of your account. We notify you of all logins to your account that look out of the ordinary. This can happen when you sign in for the first time from a new device, use your browser's private browsing function, or if someone else gained access to your account. For more information about security and privacy on ResearchGate, see Security and privacy.
On the Security Settings tab of your Settings, you can review a list of all the devices which logged into your account, along with the time, date, and approximate location.
Why am I receiving these notifications?
You will be sent an email if an attempt was made to log into your account from a device you haven't used before. Clicking on 'recently used devices' in the email takes you to your Security Settings, where you can review all logins to your account.
How do I turn on/off these notifications?
- Go to your Security Settings
- Check or uncheck the box under Email Login alerts
How do I log out of a device?
The Recent Devices section of your Security Settings shows you a list of devices and browsers that have been used to log in to your ResearchGate account recently. Each entry includes the date, time, and approximate location when logging in, as well as the type of device used to access your account.
To log out of ResearchGate on another computer, phone, or tablet:
Go to your Security Settings
Find the session you want to log out from, click on it, and select Log out
Note: This will only log you out of the session on that particular device. Any sessions which are grayed out are already logged out.
I don't recognize a login
If you ever receive a login alert from an unfamiliar browser or location, follow the instructions here to reset your password and secure your account.